D E
sch wa nk hal le
x

OLYMPIA BUKKAKIS

›A TOUCH OF THE OTHER‹

Performance

Performance in english
SAT Oct 23 / 8 pm + SUN Oct 24 / 6pm
On SUN Oct 24 with Q&A

#narratinghistory #carematters

TICKETS ››

You know, people say everything happens for a reason. Well, that’s just a dreadful thing to say, I think, a stupid thing to say... And people say “why would this happen to you?” And I say “why wouldn’t it happen to me?” Because nobody’s special, nobody is... Good things happen to good people... And bad people... And bad things happen to everybody... (Leonie Hughes, Nurse, Mother, Grandmother, Aunty of Olympia Bukkakis)

For ›A Touch of the Other‹ Olympia Bukkakis draws on her background as a drag artist to explore the potential of this kind of performance to engage with the lived experiences and knowledges of women. The differences and overlaps between Bukkakis’ embodied existence as a trans drag performer and those of her cis female relatives from a white working class family in New Zealand are put into conversation with the traditional relationship between drag performance and the women that it ‘imitates’. In doing so she engages critically with the established tradition within drag performance of portraying working class women’s speech and mannerisms. Olympia Bukkakis takes feminised labour as a site where (drag) performers and working women may find commonalities that can contribute to a solidarity that transgresses sexual, gender and generational difference.

Queen of the Heavens and of the Earth, Empress of Despair, and Architect of Your Eternal Suffering, Olympia Bukkakis began performing while completing a BA in social theory at Melbourne University in Australia and kick-started the local alternative drag scene with her party Pandora’s Box. She has collaborated with Australian queer theatre company Sisters Grimm on a number of projects including Summertime in the Garden of Eden.
Since moving to Berlin in 2012, she has organised, curated, and moderated various queer performance nights including ›Get Fucked‹, ›Fancy‹ and ›Apocalypse Tonight‹. Since 2015 she has organised and hosted ›Queens Against Borders‹, a performance event in solidarity with trans and queer refugees. In recent years she has begun to perform in contemporary dance and performance contexts, performing in Jeremy Wade’s Between Sirens and Human Resources and in 2019 she completed a Masters in Solo Dance Authorship at the Inter-University Centre for Dance (HZT) in Berlin with her graduation piece ›Tales From a State of Shemergency‹.

CREDITS
CONCEPT, PERFORMANCE, CHOREOGRAPHY Olympia Bukkakis
DRAMATURGY Allison Wiltshire
SET, VIDEO Camille Lacadee
LIGHT Maika Knoblich
SOUND Lyra Pramuk
COSTUME Jay Barry Matthews
PRODUCTION Lisa Gehring
PRODUCTION ASSISTANCE Paul Niedermeyer
CHOREOGRAPHIC ASSISTANCE Am Ertl TEXT Mindy Grumley, Daisy Grumley, Leonie Hughes, Tracey Hughes

Originally performed as part of the Risk & Resilience festival at Sophiensaele, Berlin.
Guest performance made possible by the NPN-Gastspielförderung Tanz with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and the Ministries of Culture and the Arts of the Federal States.

NPN      BKM_2017_Office_Farbe

 

TICKETS
No reservations. Tickets available online and at all Nordwest-Ticket ticket agencies. Remaining tickets from 60 min before the start of the event at the box office.
ONLINE TICKETS AVAILABLE SOON ››
Pricing
Joint price system 14/10/7 EURO, Bremen Pass/Kultursemesterticket 3 EURO. No further reductions. Online-Tickets plus 1 EURO fee.

Due to the current incidence levels in Bremen, the 3G rule ('Vaccinated - tested - recovered') applies to all events at the Schwankhalle.
›› more information

D E
sch wa nk hal le
x

OLYMPIA BUKKAKIS

›A TOUCH OF THE OTHER‹

Performance

SA 23.10. / 20 Uhr + SO 24.10. / 18 Uhr  
Am SA 23.10. mit Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss (verlegt vom Sonntag)
In englischer Sprache

#geschichteerzählen #carematters

TICKETS ››

Die Drag-Legende und selbsternannte Queen of the Heavens and of the Earth Olympia Bukkakis rückt mit Lipsync, Tanz, Video und Storytelling der Frage auf den Leib, welchen Platz aktuelle Feminismus-Diskurse Transidentitäten und Drag-Praktiken einräumen. Dafür wagt sie den Rückgriff auf ihre eigene Familiengeschichte: Denn nicht nur für Bukkakis hatte die externe Beurteilung ihres Körpers, der bei der Geburt männlich bestimmt wurde, einen tiefgreifenden Einfluss auf ihre Existenz in der Welt. Ihre Mutter und deren fünf Schwestern üben aufgrund der weiblichen Zuschreibungen auf ihre Körper feminisierte Arbeit aus – also Berufe, in denen traditionell vermehrt Frauen tätig sind und die eine geringere gesellschaftliche Wertschätzung erfahren. Bukkakis entdeckt Schnittstellen zu ihrer eigenen Arbeit als Dragperformerin: in Form von geteilten Verletzlichkeiten, Stärken und Resilienzstrategien. In ihrer Performance schafft sie einen Raum für Anerkennung und neue Bande feministischer Solidarität abseits von starren Geschlecht-, Gender-, und Generationsgrenzen.

Olympia Bukkakis ist eine australische, nicht-binäre Drag- und Tanzkünstlerin. 2009 begann sie, mit ihren Performances in Melbourne, Australien, aufzutreten. Seit ihrem Umzug im Jahr 2012 organisiert sie in Berlin verschiedene queere Performancenächte, darunter Get Fucked, Apocalypse Tonight und Queens Against Borders. Im Jahr 2018 schloss sie den SODA-Master am HZT mit ihrem Stück Tales From a State of Shemergency ab. Ihr Stück Gender Euphoria feierte innerhalb der Tanztage Berlin 2019 an den Sophiensælen Premiere. Zuletzt zeigte sie: Work on Progress (HAU), Under Pressures (Gessnerallee, Zürich) und Boys Night Out (Abbotsford Convent, Melbourne).

CREDITS
KONZEPT, PERFORMANCE, CHOREOGRAFIE Olympia Bukkakis
DRAMATURGIE Allison Wiltshire
BÜHNENBILD, VIDEO Camille Lacadee
LICHT Maika Knoblich
TON Lyra Pramuk
KOSTÜM Jay Barry Matthews
PRODUKTION Lisa Gehring
PRODUKTIONSASSISTENZ Paul Niedermeyer
CHOREOGRAFISCHE ASSISTENZ Am Ertl

Eine Produktion von Olympia Bukkakis in Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Gastspiel ermöglicht durch die NPN-Gastspielförderung Tanz aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien sowie der Kultur- und Kunstministerien der Länder.

NPN      BKM_2017_Office_Farbe

 

TICKETS
Online und bei allen Nordwest-Ticket Vorverkaufsstellen erhältlich. Restkarten ab 60 min vor Veranstaltungsbeginn an der Abendkasse.
VORVERKAUF STARTET IN KÜRZE ››
Preise
Solidarisches Preissystem 14/10/7 EURO, Bremen Pass/Kultursemesterticket 3 EURO. Keine weiteren Ermäßigungen. Online-Tickets zzgl. 1 EURO Gebühr.

Aufgrund der aktuellen Inzidenzwerte in Bremen gilt bei allen Veranstaltungen der Schwankhalle ab sofort die 3G-Regel (›Geimpft – getestet – genesen‹).
›› Mehr Infos