D E
sch wa nk hal le
x

IRENA KUKRIĆ

›HOW TO WALK ON WATER‹

Performance

PREMIERE 
FRI Nov 19 / 8 pm

SAT Nov 20 + SUN Nov 21 / 7 pm

On SUN Nov 21 with Q&A.
In english language

in the context of the thematic focus Letting Go.

#lettinggo #bremenartsscene

TICKETS ››

›How To Walk On Water‹ is a performance installation, that guides you through the virtual landscape, exploring the duality of human presence in our physical space and the space of the internet. You are invited to take a walk without moving, passing through the spaces in-between where our fragmented thoughts are floating. Come and reflect on this moment we usually experience alone in our rooms, in a collective of an audience through the performing non-humans.

Through the vast possibilities, all collected for us on the internet, we engage in the echo chambers guided by the internet algorithms. The intimacy we might look for is redirected from another to ourselves. Unlike the physical space we inhabit, the one we can measure, touch, smell and taste, the space of the internet draws one in, scrolls, scatters, collects and manipulates. Here one can find everything, but in the process, one can forget what it is one has set out to find.

Irena Kukrić was born in Belgrade and lives and works between Bremen and Berlin. Her practice and research relates to the absence of the human body in time-based, installative performances. Irena Kukrić studied scenography at the Faculty of Applied Arts in Belgrade and digital media at the University of the Arts in Bremen and is currently a doctoral candidate at the PhDArts Leiden. She realized installation performances for various galleries and festivals (including OUTNOW!). Irena Kukric has a teaching position and is coordinator and researcher in the research project ›The Dynamic Archive‹ at the University of the Arts Bremen.

CREDITS
CONCEPT/ARTISTIC DIRECTION/STAGE DESIGN Irena Kukrić
DRAMATURGY Iva Brdar, Irena Kukrić
PROGRAMMING & ELECTRONICS Julian-Anthony Hespenheide
SOUND DESIGN Chang Park
VOICE Kate Chen
PRODUCTION Nadine Becker

PRODUCTION ASSISTENT Peter Buczkowski

Based on a scene from the wikiHow manuals inspired play ›Tomorrow Is (For Now) Always Here‹ by Iva Brdar, translated by Ana Brdar. Performance rights Rowohlt Theater Verlag Hamburg. Supported by Senator für Kultur Bremen + Karin und Uwe Hollweg Stiftung

Coproduction: Schwankhalle Bremen

tracks used:
Worth Search by Peter Fonda
Pumpkin Devotion by Porches

SfK_Bremen_web

TICKETS 
Tickets available online and at all Nordwest-Ticket ticket agencies. Remaining tickets from 60 min before the start of the event at the box office.
›› BUY ONLINE TICKETS
Pricing
Joint price system 14/10/7 EURO, Bremen Pass/Kultursemesterticket 3 EURO. No further reductions. Online-Tickets plus 1 EURO fee.

Due to the current incidence levels in Bremen, the 3G rule ('Vaccinated - tested - recovered') applies to all events at the Schwankhalle.

›› more information

D E
sch wa nk hal le
x

IRENA KUKRIĆ

›HOW TO WALK ON WATER‹

Performance - Installation

PREMIERE
FR 19.11. / 20 Uhr
SA 20. + SO 21.11. / 19 Uhr

In englischer Sprache
Am SO 21.11. Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss.
 

im Rahmen des ThemenschwerpunktsLoslassen.

#loslassen #freieszenebremen

TICKETS ››

Die Performance-Installation ›How To Walk On Water‹ führt das Publikum durch eine virtuelle Landschaft. Ganz ohne uns zu bewegen können wir in ihr spazieren gehen, ihre Zwischenräume erkunden, unsere fragmentierten Gedanken schweben lassen. Solche Momente der Dualität erleben wir fast täglich, wenn wir zeitgleich in unseren Zimmern sitzen und durch die virtuellen Weiten des Internets wandern. Aber wie fühlt sich diese Gleichzeitigkeit an, wenn sie kollektiv in einem Theaterraum erlebt wird, zusammen mit anderen Menschen und Nicht-Menschen? 

Angelockt von seinen unendlichen Möglichkeiten finden wir uns schnell in den von Algorithmen gesteuerten Echokammern des Internets wieder. Die Intimität, die wir hier vielleicht gesucht haben, wirft uns letztlich auf uns selbst zurück. Anders als der physische Raum, den wir bewohnen, den wir vermessen, berühren, riechen und schmecken können, zieht uns der Raum des Internets an, scrollt, streut, sammelt und manipuliert uns. Hier können wir alles finden. Aber was haben wir eigentlich gesucht?

Irena Kukrić wurde in Belgrad geboren und lebt und arbeitet zwischen Bremen und Berlin. Ihre Praxis und Forschung bezieht sich auf die Abwesenheit des menschlichen Körpers in zeitbasierten, installativen Performances. Irena Kukric studierte Szenografie an der Fakultät für Angewandte Kunst in Belgrad und Digitale Medien an der Hochschule für Künste in Bremen und ist derzeit Doktorandin an der PhDArts Leiden. Sie realisierte installative Performances für verschiedene Galerien und Festivals (u.a. OUTNOW!). Irena Kukric hat einen Lehrauftrag an der Hochschule für Künste Bremen und ist Koordinatorin und Forscherin im Forschungsprojekt ›The Dynamic Archive‹ an der Hochschule für Künste Bremen.

CREDITS
KONZEPT/REGIE/BÜHNE Irena Kukrić
DRAMATURGIE Iva Brdar, Irena Kukrić
PROGRAMMIERUNG & ELEKTRONIK Julian-Anthony Hespenheide
SOUND DESIGN Chang Park
STIMME Kate Chen
PRODUKTION Nadine Becker
PRODUKTIONSASSISTENZ Peter Buczkowski

›How to Walk on Water‹ basiert auf dem von wikiHow manuals inspirierten Stück ›Tomorrow Is (For Now) Always Here‹ von Iva Brdar, übersetzt von Ana Brdar. Aufführungsrechte Rowohlt Theater Verlag Hamburg.

Gefördert durch den Senator für Kultur Bremen und die Karin und Uwe Hollweg Stiftung.

Koproduktion: Schwankhalle

SfK_Bremen_web

TICKETS 
Online und bei allen Nordwest-Ticket Vorverkaufsstellen erhältlich. Restkarten ab 60 min vor Veranstaltungsbeginn an der Abendkasse.
›› ONLINE TICKETS BESTELLEN
Preise
Solidarisches Preissystem 14/10/7 EURO, Bremen Pass/Kultursemesterticket 3 EURO. Keine weiteren Ermäßigungen. Online-Tickets zzgl. 1 EURO Gebühr.

Aufgrund der aktuellen Inzidenzwerte in Bremen gilt bei allen Veranstaltungen der Schwankhalle ab sofort die 3G-Regel (›Geimpft – getestet – genesen‹).
›› Mehr Infos