D E
sch wa nk hal le
x

MARIELA GEORG

›CRITICAL WELLNESS: THRIVING DESPITE RACISM AND DISCRIMINATION‹

Empowerment-Workshop

SAT Dec 11 / 10 am - 4 pm

in the context of the thematic focus Letting Go.

#lettinggo #bipoconly

TICKETS ››

›Choosing wellness is an act of political resistance,‹ bell hooks once wrote. But how can we activate our inner resources and enhance our subjective health? What is Critical Wellness and how can we thrive despite racism and discrimination? This workshop offers a safer space for BIPoC to find and try out paths of self-care. The focus is on the interrelations between society and well-being as well as on the body-mind connection. The trainer provides impulses, and in a group of maximally 16 persons, practical advice is given and exercises are conducted to promote subjective health, mindfulness, fitness, and stress management.

Mariela Georg is a mother, a creative worker, a person with many passions, an intersectional feminist, activist, illustrator, the co-founder of the Bundesfachnetz Gesundheit und Rassismus, and designates herself as Afro-Latina-German. Mariela is interested in the effects of racism and marginalization on the mind, body and soul. She describes Critical Wellness as the process of becoming aware of power structures and power relations and their influence on the well-being of the individual and the community. Understood in this way, Critical Wellness is a path a consciously taken to decolonize the body, soul and mind, aiming to establish a balance between self-care and community-care. Mariela received her B.Sc. in psychology and M.A in personal development, she is a trained fitness instructor, stress coach and mediator, and has been conducting professional antidiscrimination work for many years.

www.empower-mental.de
Instagram: @empower.mental.de

The workshop is only for BIPoC (Black, Indigenous & People of Color).

TICKETS
14 Euro. No reductions. Reduced ticket contingent at Bremen Pass price. Payment on site. Registration at ticket@schwankhalle.de

Workshop in German spoken language.
The workshop is largely accessible for people with limited mobility and wheelchair users. There will be some practical exercises where we will be physically active. These can be adapted for individual movement possibilities. Please contact us if you need special assistance or have questions about the workshop.

Please come in comfortable clothes in which you can move freely and if possible bring a towel or mat, as well as a water bottle. A vegan meal will be served during the one-hour lunch break (included in the price).

Due to the current incidence values in Bremen, the 2G rule ('vaccinated - recovered') will apply to all events at the Schwankhalle from 1.12.2021. Exceptions will be marked accordingly.
›› more information

D E
sch wa nk hal le
x

MARIELA GEORG

›CRITICAL WELLNESS: GEDEIHEN TROTZ RASSISMUS UND DISKRIMINIERUNG‹

Empowerment-Workshop für BIPoC

SA 11.12. / 10 - 16 Uhr

Im Rahmen des Themenschwerpunkts Loslassen.

#loslassen #bipoconly

TICKETS ››

›Choosing wellness is an act of political resistance‹ schrieb einst bell hooks. Aber wie können wir unsere inneren Ressourcen aktivieren und unsere subjektive Gesundheit fördern? Was ist Critical Wellness und wie können wir trotz Rassismus und Diskriminierung gedeihen? Dieser Workshop soll einen safer space für BIPoC bieten, um Wege zur Selbstfürsorge zu erproben und für sich zu finden. Die Zusammenhänge zwischen Gesellschaft und Wohlbefinden sowie die body-mind-connection stehen im Vordergrund. Die Trainerin liefert Impulse und gemeinsam in der Gruppe von maximal 16 Personen werden praktische Tipps und Übungen zur Förderung der subjektiven Gesundheit, Achtsamkeit, Fitness und Stressbewältigung durchgeführt.

Mariela Georg ist Mutter, Kreative, Multipassionierte, intersektionale Feministin, Aktivistin, Illustratorin, Mitgründerin des Bundesfachnetzes Gesundheit und Rassismus und bezeichnet sich selbst als Afro-Latina-Deutsch. Mariela interessiert sich für die Auswirkungen von Rassismus und Marginalisierung auf Psyche, Körper und Seele. Critical Wellness beschreibt sie als den Prozess, sich den Machtstrukturen und -verhältnissen bewusst zu werden sowie deren Auswirkungen auf das Wohlbefinden des Individuums und der Community. Demnach ist Critical Wellness ein bewusst ergriffener Weg hin zur Dekolonisierung von Körper, Seele und Geist und strebt eine Balance zwischen Self-care und Community-care an. Mariela hat Psychologie B.Sc. und Personalentwicklung M.A. studiert, ist ausgebildete Fitness-Trainerin, Stress-Coach und Mediatorin. Sie arbeitet seit vielen Jahren hauptberuflich in der Antidiskriminierungsarbeit.

www.empower-mental.de 

Instagram: @empower.mental.de

Der Workshop richtet sich an BIPoC* (Black, Indigenous & People of Color).
*BIPoC ist eine Selbstbezeichnung von Menschen mit Rassismuserfahrung, die nicht als weiß wahrgenommen werden und sich auch selbst nicht so definieren.

TICKETS
Teilnahmegebühr: 14 Euro. Reduziertes Kartenkontingent zum Bremen-Pass-Preis. Keine weiteren Ermäßigungen. Bezahlung vor Ort.
Anmeldung unter ticket@schwankhalle.de

Workshop in deutscher Lautsprache.

Der Workshop ist weitgehend für mobilitätseingeschränkte Menschen und Rollstuhlfaher*innen zugänglich. Es gibt einige praktische Übungen, bei denen wir körperlich aktiv werden. Diese können für individuelle Bewegungsmöglichkeiten angepasst werden. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie besondere Unterstützung benötigen oder Fragen zum Ablauf haben. 

Bitte kommen Sie in bequemer Kleidung, in der Sie sich frei bewegen können und bringen Sie nach Möglichkeit ein Handtuch oder eine Matte, sowie eine Wasserflasche mit. 

In der einstündigen Mittagspause wird ein veganes Essen serviert (im Preis enthalten). 

Aufgrund der aktuellen Inzidenzwerte in Bremen gilt ab dem 1.12.2021 bei allen Veranstaltungen der Schwankhalle die 2G-Regel (›geimpft – genesen‹). Ausnahmen werden entsprechend gekennzeichnet.
›› Mehr Infos